Graduate School management and committees

This page has information on the management of the Graduate School of Science and Technology. The management has overall responsibility for the graduate school and the education of PhD students within the school’s research fields. Furthermore, the organization of the different Graduate School committees is listed below, along with information on their responsibilities and committee members.


The GSST head of PhD school is the vice-dean for talent development and responsible for the organisation of PhD studies within the legal framework laid down by the Danish Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (Ministerial Order no. 1039 of 27 august 2013) and the GSST Rules and Regulations.

The head of PhD school:

  1. Is responsible for the admission of students.
  2. Is responsible for regular quality assurance evaluations of the PhD school.
  3. Is responsible for the individual PhD study programmes.
  4. Makes recommendations to the dean regarding the appraisal of the PhD programmes and supervises the implementation of suggested changes.
  5. Appoints the PhD supervisors.
  6. Appoints chairs and members of the programme committees.
  7. Reports to the dean on all matters of significance for the PhD students, such as fellowships and scholarships awarded, paid employment, examinations, etc.
  8. Reviews complaints concerning PhD study matters.

The current head of PhD school is Professor Jes Madsen.

GSST Secretariat

GSST is administered by a Secretariat, which is an integrated part of the Aarhus University administration.

The GSST Secretariat is responsible for administration of its PhD programmes and provides services related to the following, for example:

  • Application procedures
  • Enrolment and employment
  • Study permits for international PhD students
  • Information events
  • Study-related and employment-related counselling
  • Evaluations
  • Transferable skills courses
  • Qualifying examinations
  • Defence of PhD dissertations
  • Issuing PhD certificates
  • Extensions, leaves, maternity/paternity/sick leave, etc.

Please don’t hesitate to contact your PhD partner, if you have any questions or experience any problems in connection with your PhD studies. You find your PhD partner contact information on your programme site or at the contact page.

GSST admissions committee

The GSST admissions committee consists of the head of PhD school and 13 top researchers. All researchers are appointed by the dean and have a broad knowledge of science and technology. Based on input from the programme committees, the admissions committee prepares a list of applicants recommended for admission to GSST PhD studies and for full or partial funding by GSST. This list is forwarded to the dean for approval with respect to the amount of funding from the Faculty of Science and Technology.

Current members of the admissions committee are:

    • Jes Madsen
    • Bent Tolstrup Christensen
    • Knud Erik Bach Knudsen
    • Johannes Overgaard
    • Kurt Gothelf
    • Jesper Buus Nielsen
    • Poul Henning Kirkegaard
    • Mikael Skou Andersen
    • Lotte Bach Larsen
    • Thorsten Nagel
    • Søren Fournais
    • Gregers Rom Andersen
    • Bo Brummerstedt Iversen
    • Georg Bruun

      GSST PhD committee

      The GSST PhD committee is responsible for the organisation of PhD studies within the legal framework laid down by the Danish Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (Ministerial Order no. 1039 of 27 August 2013) and the GSST Rules and Regulations. Six members of the GSST PhD committee are elected from among the permanent academic staff, and six members are elected from among the PhD students.

      Agendas and minutes from PhD committee meetings

      Current members of the PhD Committee are:

        • Professor Henrik Stapelfeldt, Chemistry (representing Chemistry, Physics and Astronomy, Mathematics and Nanoscience)
        • Associate Professor Ernst-Martin Füchtbauer, Molecular Biology and Genetics (representing Molecular Biology and Genetics)
        • Associate Professor Marianne Hammershøj, Food Science (representing Food Science and Animal Science)
        • Associate Professor Anders Møller, Computer Science (representing Computer Science, Geoscience and Engineering)
        • PhD student Alice Puk Skarbye, Animal Science (Vice-chair) (representing Animal Science and Food Science)
        • PhD student Laura Agneessens, Engineering (observer – representing Computer Science, Geoscience and Engineering)

          The GSST PhD committee:

          1. Approves PhD courses
          2. Discusses matters related to PhD studies in general and forwards recommendations to the dean via the head of PhD school
          3. Advises the head of PhD school in matters pertaining to supervision and appraisal of PhD studies
          4. Advises the vice-dean about the composition of assessment committees
          5. Reviews applications for credit transfers and requests for exemptions

          Rules of procedure for the GSST PhD committee at Science and Technology

          GSST programme committees

          Each programme has a programme committee composed of members of the permanent academic staff and PhD students. Academic staff members of programme committees and their chairs are appointed by the vice-dean for talent development after consultations with the relevant departments/centres.

          The programme committees discuss matters related to PhD studies at departmental level and forward their recommendations to the head of PhD school. PhD students are excluded from participating in any items on the agenda that pertain to personal issues, such as the evaluation of incoming applications.

          The academic staff members of programme committees evaluate incoming applications and submit their recommendations to GSST. Their evaluation involves a thorough assessment of each applicant’s qualifications, in accordance with the criteria listed in paragraph 3.4 and of the recommendations provided by GSST.

          Programme committee members from the academic staff take part in qualifying examinations and thesis evaluations as described in later sections of these rules.

          Current chair members of the programme committees are:

          • Lis Wollesen de Jonge - Agroecology
          • Jan Tind Sørensen- Animal science
          • Kurt Thomas Jensen - Bioscience
          • Henrik Stapelfeldt- Chemistry
          • Anders Møller – Computer science
          • Christian Tegner - Geoscience
          • Stefan Hallerstede - Engineering
          • Ole Hertel – Environmental science
          • Marianne Hammershøj – Food science
          • Bent Ørsted - Mathematics
          • Ernst-Martin Füchtbauer -Molecular Biology and Genetics
          • Duncan Sutherland - Nanoscience
          • Karsten Riisager - Physics and astronomy

          Head of Graduate School ST

          Jes Madsen

          H bldg. 1521, 215
          P +4587155631
          P +4530453092
          12277 / i43