Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

Cross Institutional Molecular Biophysics (2018)

ECTS credits:


Course parameters:

Language: English

Level of course: PhD course

Time of year: Spring 2018

No. of contact hours/hours in total incl. preparation, assignment(s) or the like: 77/250

Capacity limits: None


Objectives of the course:

The Cross Institutional Molecular Biophysics course is interdisciplinary and cross-institutional and will be given by a series of lecturers who are experts within each their subfield of biophysics. The coherence of the course is assured by emphasizing the molecular basis of modern biophysics. The course will take place at different institutions in order to expose the students to different research groups, their researchers and experimental research facilities. The course will thus give the student a unique opportunity of orienting him or herself within an active and diverse field of interdisciplinary science.

The course is relevant for biophysically oriented PhD students within physics, chemistry, biochemistry, molecular biology, nano-bioscience, pharmaceutical sciences, agricultural science or biology. The emphasis of the course is a molecular description of biophysical systems and phenomena and it covers experimental methods, theoretical concepts, as well as molecular modeling. 

Learning outcomes and competences:

Proteins, lipids, membranes, DNA, enzymes, receptors, transport, permeability, photoactivity, electrostatics, scattering theory, thermodynamics, forces in bio- logical systems, light-, neutron- and X-ray scattering, magnetic resonance, pro- tein folding, calorimetry, (confocal) fluorescence microscopy and spectroscopy, molecular modeling and simulation, mechanical spectroscopy, optical tweezers, micromechanics, atomic-force microscopy, single-molecule techniques, and ellipsometry/neutron reflectometry, electrophysiology.


Compulsory programme:

Credit for the course requires the student’s presence at a minimum of 7 out of the 9 lectures. The student presentations on 16 April 2018 and evaluation and student talks on 22 May 2018 are mandatory.


Course contents:

The course starts 5 March 2018, and runs for 11 consecutive weeks at different institutes and by different lecturers. Each day of the course covers around six hours, from 10:00-16:00 (SDU), 10:30-16:30 (AU) or 11:00-17:00 (KU, RUC, DTU). These times are selected for the benefit of students travelling from different parts of the country. In general, the morning session will consist of a set of lectures and the afternoon session will predominantly involve either the student’s active participation in experiments, specific numerical exercises, or inspection of the local experimental facilities.



Accepted at a PhD programme


Name of lecturers:

Lars Øgendal (KU); Dorthe Posselt & Peter Westh (RUC); Himanshu Khandelia, David Needham, Koji Kinoshita, Adam C. Simonsen, Beate Klösgen, Jonathan Brewer, Chen Shen, and Anders Ultoft (SDU);  Lene  Oddershede,  Thomas  Heimburg & Lise Arleth (NBI,KU); Daniel Otzen & Thomas Vosegaard (AU) and Claus H.  Nielsen (DTU).


Type of course/teaching methods:

Lectures/seminars, exercises, and tour of facilities



Will be announced every week during the course.


Course homepage:



Course assessment:

On 16 April 2018 all participants will give ten minutes presentations (just a few slides) introducing their respective PhD project to each other. The presentations have to focus on the challenges within the project, conceptual as well methodological, and not on the results obtained. Further, the presentations should include what the participants expect to gain from the course in relation to their project and challenges within the project. The presentations are followed by discussion, input and ideas from the other participants.



iNANO, Aarhus University in collaboration with other Danish Universities.



Spring 2018



Danish Universities



Deadline for registration is 16 February 2018.

If you have any questions, please contact PhD administrator Maria Kragelund, e-mail: mariak@inano.au.dk or Ditte Høyer Engholm, e-mail: dhe@inano.au.dk

13743 / i43