Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl



The Department of Bioscience is one of the largest departments at the Faculty of Science housing 450 staff members and more than 700 students enrolled including about 100 PhD students.

The department conducts both basic research in a range of biological disciplines and research-based public sector consultancy in the areas of environmental management of marine and terrestrial ecosystems. Currently the research activities at the department are organized in 18 sections in which Department of Bioscience offers PhD studies.

The sections are defined in terms of academic and geographical considerations. The sections consist of a Head of section, a number of permanent staff members and a number of PhD students, postdocs and graduate students. The following sections have been established at our 4 geographical sites:











Details about the research activities at each section at this website: bios.au.dk/en/research/

Research facilities available

Geographic location

  • The staff at Bioscience is spread among 4 geographical sites: Silkeborg, Roskilde, Kalø and Aarhus

Approx. number of PhD students:

  • 100

Head of Programme

Local Programme Secretary

GSST PhD Partner

Liselotte K. Heller

Team coordinator, PhD Partner

If you have a talent for research, it is possible to continue your studies and achieve a PhD degree. The Department of Bioscience offers an active and inspiring environment for young researchers and has approx. 100 PhD students; about half of them are from abroad.

Most of the Department's scientists have large international networks and therefore good opportunities for working together with foreign scientists and establish contacts which can form the basis for postdoc studies abroad.

Here you can read about the research groups at the Department of Bioscience, and what topics they are working with: bios.au.dk/en/about-bioscience/organisation/

12575 / i43